Composer News

SCGC Members nominated in 2024 Canadian Screen Awards

08 Mar 2024

Congratulations from all at the Guild

We were delighted to see so many SCGC members nominated in nine categories for the upcoming Canadian Screen Awards. These prestigious awards are presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television to recognize outstanding achievements in Canadian film, television and digital media production. Winners will be announced from 28 – 31 May 2024 at a number of gala events in Toronto, ON.

Our sincere congratulations go to all the nominees and especially to the SCGC members listed below.

Film: Achievement in Music – Original Score

  • Steph Copeland for Cascade
  • Suad Bushnaq for Queen tut

Film: Achievement in Music – Original Song

  • Rebecca Everett (with Melissa D’Agostino and David Brock) for “Mothers and Daughters, Daughters and Moms” from Mother of All Shows
  • Suad Bushnaq (with Omar El-Deeb) for “Chez Habibi (Kul illi Batmannah)” from Queen tut
  • Ashley Jane and Suad Bushnaq (with Kamel Bushnaq) for “I Won’t Break” from Queen tut

Film: Best Original Music in a Feature Length Documentary

  • Stéphanie Hamelin Tomala for I Lost My Mom / J’ai Placé Ma Mère

TV: Best Original Music, Animation

  • Matt Ouimet (with Jeremy Fisher) for Jeremy And Jazzy
  • Caleb Chan and Brian Chan for Pinecone & Pony
  • Neil Parfitt for Super Wish
  • Erica Procunier for Thomas & Friends: All Engines Go

TV: Best Original Music, Drama

  • Gary Koftinoff (with Phillip J Bennett) for Hudson & Rex
  • Robert Carli for Murdoch Mysteries
  • Ari Posner and Amin Bhatia for Ride
  • Rob Melamed (with Ryan Mclarnon) for The Spencer Sisters
  • Ari Posner and Amin Bhatia for Sullivan’s Crossing

TV: Best Original Music, Comedy

  • Todor Kobakov for Faith Heist: A Christmas Caper
  • Keith Power for Son of a Critch
  • Carmen Yanuziello (with Haviah Mighty, Kimberly Villagante and Terrell Morris) for Sort Of
  • Peter Chapman for Workin’ Moms

TV: Best Original Music, Documentary

  • La-Nai Gabriel for Black Community Mixedtapes
  • Bruce Fowler (with Neil Chapman) for Bug Sex: It’s Complicated
  • Ben Fox for The Climate Baby Dilemma
  • Deanna H. Choi for Last Of The Right Whales

TV: Best Original Music, Factual, Lifestyle, Reality, or Entertainment

  • Ari Posner (with Jorge Lopez and Kris Kuzdak) for Bestest Day Ever With My Best Friend
  • Adrian Ellis for Mapping Disaster
  • Adrian Ellis for Mysteries Of The Ancient Dead
  • Joseph Shabason for Searching With Chef Sang

TV: Best Original Music – Original Song

  • Brian Chan and Caleb Chan for “Builder Brothers Dream Factory Theme” from Builder Brothers Dream Factory
  • Steph Copeland for “Love Is A Mystery” from The Jane Mysteries: Inheritance Lost
  • Meiro Stamm and Antonio Naranjo for “Mittens & Pants Theme” from Mittens & Pants
  • Carmen Yanuziello for “Don’t Carry Things That Weigh You Down” from Sort Of

A complete list of nominees in all categories is available at


SCGC Academy to launch in January 2024


Event: Negotiation Workshop

Crop Image