A national association of professional music composers and producers for film, television and media

News & Events

2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominees Announced!

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television has announced the nominees for the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards. Congratulations to all the music nominees, especially the following SCGC members receiving nominations in each of the categories:

Film – Achievement in Music – Original Score nominees
Ben Fox “Never Steady, Never Still” https://www.academy.ca/2018/ben-fox/
Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna “The Breadwinner” https://www.academy.ca/2018/mychael-danna-jeff-danna/

TV – Best Original Music, Non-Fiction nominees
Michael Richard Plowman “Avenues of Escape” https://www.academy.ca/2018/michael-richard-plowman/
Philip Strong, Thomas Hoy “Little India: Village of Dreams” https://www.academy.ca/2018/philip-strong-thomas-hoy/
John Welsman “Where the Universe Sings: The Spiritual Journey of Lawren Harris” https://www.academy.ca/2018/john-welsman-2/

TV – Best Original Music, Fiction nominees
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner “Anne: Remorse is the Poison of Life” https://www.academy.ca/2018/amin-bhatia-ari-posner-3/
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner “X-Company: Remembrance” https://www.academy.ca/2018/amin-bhatia-ari-posner-2/
Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna “Alias Grace” https://www.academy.ca/2018/jeff-danna-mychael-danna/
Todor Kobakov “Cardinal” https://www.academy.ca/2018/todor-kobakov/

TV – Best Original Music, Animation
Serge Coté “Jaxon and Song’s Maple Mystery” https://www.academy.ca/2018/serge-cote/
Steffan Andrews “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs: Bacon Girl” https://www.academy.ca/2018/steffan-andrews/

The Canadian Screen Awards will be broadcast on CBC Sunday March 11, at 8pm EST (9pm PT, 9:30pm NT)

For a full list of nominees visit: https://www.academy.ca/category/2018-film-nominees/

“Taking Possession” is screening at the International Short Film Festival SHORT FORM, in Serbia! Congrats @federmusik! #composer @TakPo_1883

@SCREENCOMPOSERS • about 2 hours ago

Stay in the Loop

Canada’s national association of professional music composers and producers for film, television and media is a dynamic and growing agency.