Recent News & Events

2018 Canadian Screen Award Nominees Announced!

22 Jan 2018

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television has announced the nominees for the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards. Congratulations to all the music nominees, especially the following SCGC members receiving nominations in each of the categories:
Film – Achievement in Music – Original Score nominees
Ben Fox “Never Steady, Never Still”
Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna “The Breadwinner”
TV – Best Original Music, Non-Fiction nominees
Michael Richard Plowman “Avenues of Escape”
Philip Strong, Thomas Hoy “Little India: Village of Dreams”
John Welsman “Where the Universe Sings: The Spiritual Journey of Lawren Harris”
TV – Best Original Music, Fiction nominees
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner “Anne: Remorse is the Poison of Life”
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner “X-Company: Remembrance”
Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna “Alias Grace”
Todor Kobakov “Cardinal”
TV – Best Original Music, Animation
Serge Coté “Jaxon and Song’s Maple Mystery”
Steffan Andrews “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs: Bacon Girl”
The Canadian Screen Awards will be broadcast on CBC Sunday March 11, at 8pm EST (9pm PT, 9:30pm NT)
For a full list of nominees visit:


Spotting Notes Winter 2018


Special congratulations to SCGC member Lesley Barber whose score for Manchester By The Sea has been nominated for 2016 ASCAP Film Score of the Year!